There’s a stereotype that’s been around for a long, long time about writers often having depression or being suicidal. A long list of famous novelists have been known to be diagnosed with depression, a few of the most widely known being Ernest Hemingway, Edgar Allan Poe, and Sylvia Plath. Though these writers are only a few of many, out of the millions of writers in the world that do and did exist, it is not a must for writers to be depressed or suicidal. 

Of all the things I do on a daily basis, there is one thing that brings me more relief and happiness than anything else and that’s writing. When I have the power of a keyboard in the hold of my hands, I have the freedom to express myself in any way I want without restriction and it also gives me a chance to release any thoughts that are either too harsh to say out loud or complicated to say verbally. Though none of my writings are in print, nor do I plan for any of them to be, I write whenever given the sliver of time and consider myself to be a writer, too. 

I’ve noticed that my thoughts tend to plummet much more deeply and quicker than they did before I started to write and I’ve wondered if, maybe, it was depression. I’ve heard the stereotype and read about it more than a handful of times and took it into sincere consideration, but I realized that in the end, it was about my own perspective about life. I took out any upset thoughts in my head out and let them flow through my fingertips onto other blogs, successfully getting rid of them and stopping them from spreading any further. 

In the end, stereotypes are about a group of people and just because someone is a part of that group doesn’t mean they have to conform to the prejudice that’s been given.