Tonight, I rediscovered a song that I used to listen to on repeat for weeks and weeks this time around a few years back when I was still in high school. Three years ago, I listened to this song because it was recommended by a friend who had similar music interests as me and she told me that a famous rapper was the one who created this group – a group that ended up becoming the center of my living existence for a year or so. Of course, I fell in love with the song and the entire album, but these tracks weren’t the only things I was in love with. As cliche as it is, I was in love with a boy that happened to fit the lyrics of the song that I was entranced by the most. 

That was then, and now, when I listen to this song, I feel nostalgic and sentimental, but in the end, everything is just a memory. Even as I write this, I feel like it’s the perfect way to be expressive about the way I feel, but when I look back a year from now, a month, even a week, I’ll feel as if it was so long ago. The relief I feel now because of a successful forum rehearsal and the happiness of being able to sing along to a heartwarming song; it’ll all just fade away into something that I’ll eventually forget until something triggers the memories back. 

That’s life.

We spend endless amounts of money on pleasurable things that we can feel on the outside, but why? It’s just going to fade into memories in the end. That $5,000 vacation our family took? We won’t remember half of it by the time the next year rolls by. 15 years in the States? The only things I remember are the periodic table of elements and how to do simple math. All those nights I cried about boys, every essay I wrote, every sleepover I had – all of my experiences are just memories, and all of my future ones will continue to be memories until there’s nothing else left. Eventually our memories will fade, just as we’ll fade from the memories of others.