I decided to make creative writing the theme for this blog because I think it’s much easier and convenient to express my thoughts and feelings in writing, whether it be through my fingertips online or with a pen and paper, than it is to verbally speak the words that swim around in my head. I have time to find new, “big” words that can express exactly what I feel instead of having to settle for the mediocre vocabulary I seem to carry around in person. Creative writing has always caught my interest and it’s different from academic writing in so many ways. I don’t feel pressured to write about one certain subject. I can write about how cloudy days are still sunny behind the masses of fog, or even compare the daily lives of human beings to the process of deforestation. 

For the rest of the semester, I hope to write as much as I did before I entered school and to express myself as well as I did back then, but my writing is rusty from weeks of rest and I hope to improve through this blog. I want to express every little thing I feel and awe people at the same time, changing the way they look at me. I want my peers to stumble upon this blog and what I write, so they can think, “Wow. She doesn’t look like they type of person to ever say things like that.” I want this place to be the location for my intellectual thoughts and for those nights when I set down my smile, or perhaps let it spread, as I write and share what’s going on in my head.